Yesterday is a memory, tomorrow is a vision….

Yesterday is a memory, tomorrow is a vision….In 2004 I decided to go back to college and finish what I had started in the early 80’s. During one of my Humanities classes in early 2005 we had to compile timelines. Now those of you who really know me…. you know that I love history and reading. This particular timeline was to run from The Renaissance and Reformation Period 1350CE through Post Modernism 1946 up to the current time. Well, needless to say I got carried away, by the time I finished I had a book! Yes a book, complete with table of contents and 108 pages!!

I often find myself looking back at what I wrote as an introduction to the book, I find it is still just as true today, almost 9 years later as it was the day I wrote it…so today I am sharing it with you.

March 10, 2005

To all who enter here:

After many weeks of late nights (more like early mornings) setting in front of my computer, I realize that the more things change, the more they stay the same. The past few days have been trying, to say the least. After deciding to take a chance on contacts after wearing glasses for 44 years, what did I find reading about them? Only that Leonardo da Vinci sketched several versions way back in 1508.

From the beginning of recorded history there have been wars; the big dog on the block seems to be determined to take over the little dog and his territory.  After helping my grandson with his Civil War project and then working on this project, I realize that all the stories my father repeated to me were told to him by the people who actually witnessed the war or fought in it. When I got to the time of the Viet Nam War it was very difficult to look at the pictures. Two guys I knew were killed less than six weeks after arriving in Viet Nam. My ex-husband was a gunner on the Black Widow gun-truck in Viet Nam in 1970-71. Now we have the war in Iraq and friends and family are there.

In my opinion, human nature has changed very little over the last 200 years. Married men (and women) are still having affairs; people still steal, kill, and riot. Artists still paint bad art and musicians still range from laid-back to head-banging hard rock. Not all art and music is bad, it is all in the eye of the beholder. As the saying goes, “You can please some of the people sometime, but not all of the people all of the time”. Our differences makes us unique, think what a dull world we would have if we all like the same music, food, etc.

So dear friends, read on and take with you what you wish. May your future be brighter than your past (get darker shades).

Tell me about it

