Memories

Today would have been my Daddy’s birthday. He was born May 19, 1892 and died Jan. 22, 1977. I still miss him like crazy. My older son was only 3 1/2 when he died and my other son wasn’t even born. They have missed so much not having known him. He was far from perfect but I know he loved me and would have done anything to protect us.

daddynjimmy
Daddy and my brother Jimmy in 1967, ten years before Daddy died.

My Daddy

Memories of your face
flickering softly in the distance
through the corridors of my mind.
Like firelight and shadows,
your voice still echoes in my head
as if it were only yesterday you were here.

The leaves are falling from the trees
And the snow will soon blanket our world.
It’s been almost 14 years since you left us
And yet I still feel the need to talk to you.

You’ve missed so much,
the shining smile of your second grandson
the growing up pains of your first –
who is now going to be a father himself.

So many changes…
Yet I still feel your strengths and beliefs
Guiding me each day.
No matter what happens
You’ve always been there to help me through.

November 1992

One response to “Memories

  1. Dad’s are precious. It’s good to keep their memories alive. Thanks for sharing.

Tell me about it

