Music to my ears….

Third challenge of Writing 101… falling behind here got to catch up so there will be two postings today. Third challenge, three songs that are significant.

The first song is “They call the wind Maria”*, there’s a couple of verses that are haunting and sad, and whenever it storms for some reason I think of this song:

Away out here they got a name
For rain and wind and fire
The rain is Tess, the fire Joe,
And they call the wind Maria

Maria blows the stars around
And sends the clouds a’flyin’
Maria makes the mountains sound
Like folks were up there dying

*this is an old song and if anyone remembers seeing the movie Paint Your Wagon you will probably remember this song.

The second song is “Free Bird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Close to my all-time favorite song and favorite band:

Took my son to seem them in Nashville when he was 15, unfortunately it wasn’t the original Lynyrd Skynyrd, it was after the plane crash. Some days there doesn’t seem to be much point in picking up the pieces and I just want to escape somewhere. Just be free as a bird and that’s where this song come in.

If I leave here tomorrow
Would you still remember me?
For I must be traveling on now
‘Cause there’s too many places I’ve got to see.

But if I stayed here with you, girl,
Things just couldn’t be the same.
‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now,
And this bird you cannot change, oh, oh, oh, oh.
And this bird you cannot change.
And this bird you cannot change.
Lord knows I can’t change.

Bye, bye, baby, it’s been a sweet love, yeah,
Though this feeling I can’t change.
But please don’t take it so badly,
‘Cause Lord knows I’m to blame.

But if I stayed here with you, girl,
Things just couldn’t be the same.
‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now,
And this bird you’ll never change, oh, oh, oh, oh.
And this bird you cannot change.
And this bird you cannot change.
Lord knows, I can’t change.
Lord, help me, I can’t change.

Lord, I can’t change.
Won’t you fly high, free bird, yeah?
lynyrd_skynyrd_the_band-28040

Third song is “Wanted Dead or Alive” by Jon BonJovi – another good one.

Brings back a lot of memories from riding days. And when my kids were little we’d just pack up on my weeks off from work and head down the road to somewhere, sometimes it’d be late when we headed back and we just wanted to get home. Then when we got home I couldn’t sleep after working 12 hour shifts for 7 nights in a row sometimes it was hard to get back on the routine of sleeping nights during the summer months.

It’s all the same, only the names will change
Every day it seems we’re wasting away
Another place where the faces are so cold
I’d drive all night just to get back home

[Chorus:]
I’m a cowboy, on a steel horse I ride
I’m wanted dead or alive
Wanted dead or alive

Sometimes I sleep, sometimes it’s not for days
And the people I meet always go their separate ways
Sometimes you tell the day
By the bottle that you drink
And times when you’re alone all you do is think

[Chorus]

I walk these streets, a loaded six string on my back
I play for keeps, ’cause I might not make it back
I been everywhere, and I’m standing tall
I’ve seen a million faces and I’ve rocked them all

I’m a cowboy, on a steel horse I ride
I’m wanted dead or alive
I’m a cowboy, I got the night on my side
I’m wanted dead or alive
And I ride, dead or alive
I still drive, dead or alive
Dead or alive [x4]
aa356290e5f4dbd427a0cfb3e89e4231_lg

Tell me about it

