Treasures

Writing 101, Day Twenty: The Things We Treasure

For our final assignment, tell the tale of your most-prized possession. If you’re up for a twist, go long — experiment with long form and push yourself to write more than usual.

I have a lot of “things” that I treasure. A lot of collectibles that can’t be replaced etc. What I treasure most are the memories I have of my parents, my other family members that have gone on and of my children and grandchildren when they were little. I still have a small grandchild that makes memories for me daily and those I treasure as well. I think if we stop and look around us we will realize that it’s not the material things that we have that we should treasure. Yes, our possessions are important and most of us worked hard for what we have and as I’ve said a lot of what we have probably couldn’t be replaced. However, those things mean very little to nothing in the grand scheme of our lives. What means the most, or what should be mean the most is our families and our faith in whoever or whatever each of us believes in as a higher power. Speaking for myself, it is my family and my faith in God that I treasure beyond all else.

I have those “things” that I enjoy and like to have around – you know the sports stuff for us die hard, bleed blue Kentucky Wildcat fans or Tennessee Titan fans. Some of things grace my walls and all I have to do is look up from this computer and see the big blue UK logo or prints of football and basketball players. The Native American prints on my walls along with the pictures of my grandchildren, those are all things that are important to me but I can live without them.

20140630_225755_1 20140630_225812

At the end of the day what I treasure more than anything is when my grandkids tell me good night and give me a kiss and hug, those little arms around your neck make all the other crap worthwhile and can make a horrible day into a pretty good one.   smiley

One response to “Treasures

  1. Yes. I agree. As we ‘grow up’ our values and needs change and the materialistic loses importance.

Tell me about it

